DMV 226 (4/9/2024)



# VIRGINIA RIDER TRAINING PROGRAM POLICY AND PROCEDURES

#### Overview

The Department of Motor Vehicles' Virginia Rider Training Program was established in 1984. In 2004, the Virginia General Assembly passed a law mandating that all motorcycle rider safety training sites be licensed by DMV.

#### **Mission**

To operate a Motorcycle Safety Program that administers the laws set forth in the Virginia Code providing superior training, supporting secure licensing, and saving lives by reducing motorcycle crashes, injuries, and fatalities in the Commonwealth.

### **Curriculum**

1. The current DMV-approved curriculum for basic rider training is the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) Basic RiderCourse (BRC) and Basic RiderCourse 3-Wheel (3WBRC). Each participant enrolled in a BRC must receive no less than the minimum number of hours of classroom and on-cycle instruction as specified in the current approved curriculum. Basic rider training will include a module on the effects of alcohol and other drugs on motorcycle operations and a thorough review of Virginia laws and rules of the road applicable to motorcycles. All basic rider course participants will be given the opportunity to download a copy of the Motorcycle Safety Foundation Basic RiderCourse Rider Handbook and a copy of the Virginia Motorcycle Operator Manual, available at DMV Customer Service Centers. During oncycle instruction, the student ratio will follow the guidance of the approved Motorcycle Safety Foundation curriculum, unless otherwise provided by the Department of Motor Vehicles. Training sites must operate in accordance with the approved MSF ranges and comply with all guidelines provided in the MSF range approval letter.

- 2. The current DMV-approved curriculum for experienced rider training is the Motorcycle Safety Foundation's Basic RiderCourse 2 or the Basic RiderCourse 2u. BRC2 LW (License Waiver) Each participant enrolled in a BRC2/BRC2u BRC2 LW training class must receive no less than the minimum number of hours of classroom and on-cycle instruction as specified in the current curriculum. All BRC2/BRC2u BRC2 LW classes will include a module on the effects of alcohol and other drugs on motorcycle operations and a review of Virginia laws and rules of the road applicable to motorcycles. During on-cycle instruction, training sites must operate on approved MSF ranges and comply with any restrictions defined in the MSF Rider Education Recognition Program (RERP) for instructor- student ratio, and limits on the number of motorcycles allowed to operate on the range.
- 3. When a student has successfully completed the BRC, BRC2 LW, or the 3WBRC, the site will issue a Safety Course Completion Certificate, TSS 97. This form exempts the student from completing both the motorcycle knowledge exam and the road skills exam.
  - a. If the student is 19 or older, the course completion certificate will act as a temporary "M2" or "M3" classification when carried with their driver's license, which will allow the student to operate the appropriate motorcycle for 30 days from the course completion date. After the initial 30 days, the student will not be authorized to operate a motorcycle until the motorcycle designation is added to their license. Certificates are valid for a period of one year from the date of course completion.
  - b. **If the student is under 18**, and possesses their completed TSS 97 form, they must do the following to add a Class "M", "M2", or "M3" designation to their current driver's license:
    - 1. Pass the required vision screening.
    - 2. Obtain and hold a motorcycle learner's permit for 9 months.
    - 3. Present their Safety Course Completion Certificate, DMV Form TSS 97, within one year of completion of the course.
- 4. The current DMV-approved curriculum for basic three-wheeled motorcycle training is the MSF Basic RiderCourse 3 Wheel (3WBRC). Each participant enrolled in a 3WBRC motorcycle training class must receive no less than the minimum number of hours of classroom and oncycle instruction as specified in the current curriculum. All 3WBRC's will include a module on the effects of alcohol and other drugs on three-wheel motorcycle operation, and a thorough review of Virginia laws and rules of the road applicable to three- wheel motorcycles. During oncycle instruction, training sites must operate in accordance with the approved MSF Rider Education Recognition Program (RERP) for

instructor-student ratio and limits on the number of motorcycles allowed to operate on the range.

- 5. All course participants must wear the following protective gear during on-cycle instruction:
  - a. A <u>lawful</u> motorcycle helmet.
  - b. Eye protection.
  - c. A pair of boots or shoes that cover and protect the ankles and feet.
  - d. A long-sleeved jacket or long-sleeved shirt and long pants of denim or other material of equivalent durability.
  - e. A pair of full-fingered gloves of leather or other material with resistance to abrasion.

## <u>Virginia Rider Training Program License Application Process</u>

No person or entity may operate a motorcycle training site in Virginia without obtaining a license from DMV. Applicants for a Virginia Rider Training Program license may apply for either a reimbursed license or non-reimbursed license. Commonwealth of Virginia state or local government education agencies are eligible to apply for reimbursed licensure. Private individuals, entities, or companies are eligible to apply for non-reimbursed licensure. DMV determines the number of reimbursed licenses issued and or renewed based on the training site meeting the requirements established by DMV, regional demand for basic rider training, and availability of funding. Those licenses issued or renewed for providers of training courses that do not require reimbursement are awarded based on the training site's ability to operate a training site to meet the requirements established by DMV.

Any applicant denied a license will, upon his or her written request made within 30 days of the Commissioner's action, be given a hearing at a time and place determined by the Commissioner or his or her designee. All hearings under this section are public and will be held as soon as practicable but in no case later than 30 days from receipt of the hearing request. The applicant may be represented by counsel. Any applicant denied a license may not apply again for the same type of license for 180 calendar business days from the date of denial of the application.

## Reimbursed Training Site

All invoices must be emailed to; accountspayable@dmv.virginia.gov. and to the DMV Motorcycle Safety Training Site Coordinator. Reimbursed sites may apply for direct deposit through the following website: https://www/doa.virginia.gov/forms.shtml#edi

## Non-Reimbursed Training Sites

Applicants must complete application form TSS 96 (link to tss96) and submit all necessary documentation requested to, The Department of Motor Vehicles, Motorcycle Safety Training Site Coordinator, Office 405, 2300 W Broad Street, Richmond VA 23269, or email documentation to the Motorcycle Safety Training Site Coordinator.

## Other Training Site Obligations

- 1. Each training site must operate within the approved MSF Rider Education Recognition Program (RERP) guidelines and must possess and or have access to, classroom, range, storage facilities, and equipment. A training site's facilities and equipment must be approved by DMV and include the following:
  - a. A classroom for the presentation of the off-cycle instructional portion of the novice, experienced, and three-wheeled motorcycle rider courses.
  - b. A paved range area for the on-cycle portion of the novice, experienced and threewheeled motorcycle courses consistent with the minimum range requirements established by the DMV-approved curriculum used in the course.
  - c. For those agencies, organizations, businesses, and individuals that apply to receive reimbursement, the facilities must have adequate storage to protect motorcycles and equipment from vandalism, theft, and environmental damage.
  - d. Audio-Visual equipment.
  - e. Fire extinguisher and first-aid kit.
- 2. Training sites will contact the DMV Motorcycle Safety Training Site Coordinator to provide them with the Virginia Motorcycle Safety Course Completion Certificates (TSS 97) based on actual and projected enrollments, and other DMV Forms. The TSS 97 form is considered controlled, and all training sites will provide the following:
  - a. Adequate records to show card count from site received to student issuance.
  - b. Reporting to TREDS within the required time
  - c. Immediate reporting of lost or stolen cards to the DMV Motorcycle Safety Training Site Coordinator.
- 3. Training sites are responsible for verifying that all participants are eligible for enrollment in a course based on the following:
  - a. Persons enrolling in a Basic RiderCourse must (i) possess a valid learner's permit and or a valid driver's license; (ii) have written parental or guardian permission if under the age of 18 years of age; (iii) be physically able to balance and operate a motorcycle; and (iv) sign an appropriate waiver/liability form prior to the start of the course.

- b. Persons enrolling in an experienced rider course BRC2 LW must (i) possess a valid driver's license endorsed for motorcycle operation; (ii) have written parental or guardian permission if under the age of 18; (iii) use a motorcycle that may lawfully be operated on the highways of the Commonwealth during course training; (iv) have a valid proof of ownership of such motorcycle, or have its owner's written permission to use it and valid proof of insurance, and (v) sign an appropriate waiver/liability form prior to the start of the course.
- c. Persons enrolling in a 3WBRC class must:
- (i) possess a valid learner's permit or a valid driver's license; (ii) have written parental or guardian permission if under the age of 18; (iii) use a sidecar rig or three-wheeled motorcycle that may lawfully be operated on the highways of the Commonwealth during course training (iv) if providing their own sidecar rig or three-wheeled motorcycle, have a valid proof of ownership of such sidecar rig or three-wheeled motorcycle, or have its owner's written permission to use it and valid proof of insurance.; and (v) sign an appropriate waiver/liability form prior to the start of the course.
- 4. The training site must issue a completed DMV-approved certificate of completion to each participant who successfully completes course in the program.
- 5. Approved training sites must provide the following information to DMV for each course within 20 business days of course completion through the online Traffic Records Electronic Data System (TREDS), the following.
  - a. Type of course and date of completion.
  - b. Name and MSF RiderCoach certification number of each instructor (RiderCoach).
  - c. Name, address, driver's license number, and date of birth of all participants enrolled in the course.
  - d. Course completion status of each participant.
  - e. Notify DMV Motorcycle Safety Program when a RiderCoach begins training with the site. The following Information must be provided: The name, address, driver's license number, and certification number of each instructor.
- 6. Training sites must retain a copy of each participant's waiver form and original course evaluation form. Along with establishing and maintaining records of course administration, to include the information outlined in sub-section 5 of this section, for a five-year period following the course completion (MSF RERP Agreement is five years). DMV may audit course records or monitor and evaluate all aspects of a training site's operation.
- 7. The location of training sites must be in accordance with DMV's administrative districts and no training site may change its geographical location without written DMV approval.
- 8. No license may be transferred or assigned as a result of any change in (i) the individual who is authorized to obligate the training site, (ii) ownership, or (iii) officers in a corporation or other

- business entity without the written approval of DMV. Such approval is based on the licensing requirements established by DMV.
- 9. Training sites must ensure that RiderCoaches maintain the minimum qualifications and meet any other requirements established in Virginia Code or otherwise established by DMV. The DMV may terminate a training course if it finds a RiderCoach in violation of any provision of Va. Code § 46.2-1188 et seq.

#### **License Renewal**

All applicants for renewed licenses must complete the application form TSS 96 at least 30 days prior to the license expiration date. DMV will review and respond to such applications within 30 days unless additional information is requested by DMV. Any applicant denied a license will, upon his or her written request made within 30 days of the Commissioner's action, be given a hearing at a time and place determined by the Commissioner or his or her designee. All hearings under this section will be public and will be held as soon as practicable but in no case later than 30 days from receipt of the hearing request. The applicant may be represented by counsel. Any applicant denied a license may not apply again for the same type of license for 180 calendar days from the date of denial of the application.

In addition to the TSS 96 form and the required documentation, license renewal applications must include the following:

- 1. Overall program budget. (Only required for reimbursed sites)
- 2. Total cost of training to the student.
- 3. Amount of funds requested from the DMV Motorcycle Safety Program. (Only required for reimbursed sites)
- 4. Number of students expected to be trained for each year of license.
- 5. Use of approved curricula and course books.
- 6. Condition and safety of required equipment, and facilities, including classroom, storage areas, and range.
- 7. Condition of motorcycles and helmets.
- 8. Statutorily required insurance (P&P pg. 4 subsection K).
- 9. Statement as to the ability and willingness of the applicant to meet all requirements set forth in the license application.

#### <u>RiderCoaches</u>

Training sites may only employ MSF Certified RiderCoaches that have completed the appropriate applications and meet the following minimum qualifications:

1. Have a current, valid driver's license, endorsed for motorcycle operation, that is neither suspended, revoked, cancelled, nor under probation, with less than six demerit points in a 12-month period and no conviction for any of the offenses enumerated in subsection E of Va.

Code § 18.2-270;

- 2. Be a valid training course instructor, as approved by the DMV Motorcycle Safety Program, which includes:
  - a. Attending all required program clinics offered by the DMV Motorcycle Safety Program that provides continuously updated course and motorcycle safety education.
  - b. Conducting themselves in a professional manner, including, but not limited to, using appropriate language, and having interactions with participants and others involved in the course that are free from threat and intimidation.
  - c. Avoid putting course participants or others associated with course instruction in physical danger during periods of instruction using appropriate instructional techniques and methods.
  - d. Complying with other requirements specified in Virginia law, the Motorcycle Safety Foundation, or otherwise established by DMV.
- 3. Within every two-year recertification cycle: complete 4 Basic RiderCourses (BRC, eP1x11, or 3WBRC) and attend two different DMV Motorcycle Safety Program approved Professional Development Workshops (PDW) each calendar year. Log onto the MSF's Rider Education and Training System On-Line Resource Guide (RETSORG) to maintain your MSF Certified credentials.
- 4. Notify MSF and DMV of any change in RiderCoach status and/or contact information at www.msf-usa.org and e-mail the following address: MCSafety@dmv.virginia.gov.

These requirements do not apply to those RiderCoaches who were active and in good standing prior to being stationed outside the United States, during the period of such person's service in the armed services of the United States, and 60 days thereafter. However, temporary exemptions may not exceed five years. Any person who receives a temporary exemption must provide documentation or other proof that they are entitled to the exemption,

## **Course Aide**

A range aide can be used to assist with non-instructional support, performing such tasks as operating classroom equipment, setting cones for range exercises, maintaining motorcycles, etc. Course aides may not evaluate or coach participants. Once approved by the site manager, the course aide may conduct riding and simulated practice demonstrations under the direct supervision of a RiderCoach.

#### **Ranges**

Approved training sites must have access to a paved range area for the on-cycle portion of the novice, experienced, and three-wheeled motorcycle courses that are consistent with the minimum range requirements established by DMV-approved curriculum. The training site must have a current Rider Education Recognition Program (RERP) number for the training range from the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF). For more information on how to obtain a RERP, please refer to www.msf-usa.org.

## **Motorcycles**

In compliance with the code of Virginia 46.2-1190.2.B, the training site shall be responsible for procuring and providing a minimum of one motorcycle per student. Each motorcycle shall be of a type that may lawfully be operated on the highways of the Commonwealth and, subject to the provisions set by the DMV-approved curriculum. Each participant in the <a href="https://dx.doi.org/BRC2">BRC2 LW shall provide a motorcycle for use in the course. One three- wheeled motorcycle, provided by the training site, shall be required for use by every two students in the course. A participant may use their own three-wheel motorcycle.

All motorcycles used in course instruction must display a current Virginia State Police-Virginia State Inspection decal.

## **Completion Certificates & Rider Alert Cards**

Copies of those completion certificates must be kept on location at the training site. When a TSS97 form is issued to a student, the site will retain a record of issuance and record the certificate number both in TREDS and site records. The certificates must include the students' names (last, first, middle initial, birth date), the type of endorsement checked (M2 or M3), site name, school code, course completion date, and be signed by the RiderCoach. Sites should request an adequate supply of Rider Alert Cards from the Richmond Ambulance Authority and provide said cards to each student in the course. General information about Rider Alert cards can be found on their website. Ordering of Rider Alert cards

## **Retesting of Skill and Knowledge Evaluations**

DMV provides a 30-day provisional motorcycle license, once a student is issued a Virginia Motorcycle Safety Course Completion Certificate (TSS 97), there will be no retesting of the skill or knowledge test. The student is required to attend another course.

Prior to a student being issued a TSS 97: A licensed training site may offer retesting within the following guidelines:

• It is the discretion of the school to determine if retesting is appropriate for the skill or knowledge test.

 The appropriate test may be retaken in its entirety one additional time within a 20- day period.

### **Rider Coach Preparation Course**

All RiderCoach Preparation (RCP) courses will be approved through the DMV Motorcycle Safety Program. All course documentation will include each student an <a href="Instructor/Rider Coach Application">Instructor/Rider Coach Application (TSS 98)</a>, and a current 5-year driving record. The RiderCoach Trainer must submit a report of students who have successfully completed the course of instruction. This documentation will be sent to the DMV Motorcycle Safety <a href="Education Coordinator">Education Coordinator</a> Program Manager 10 business days prior to the commencement of training. The RiderCoach Trainer must submit a report of students who have successfully completed the course of instruction.

## Penalties and Remedies for Violations of License Requirements

- 1. DMV will impose the following penalties on any training site for violations of the requirements established by DMV:
  - a. Limit the type of instruction provided by the training site.
  - b. Suspend or revoke the license of the training site.
  - c. Impose a civil penalty.
  - d. Impose any combination of the penalties set forth in this subsection.
- 2. When violations occur that are not found by DMV to pose a threat to the health, safety or welfare of the public or the course participants, instructors, or others associated with the course, DMV will (i) notify the training site of the violations that have occurred, (ii) direct corrective action to be completed by the training site within 30 calendar days, and (iii) require a formal written response documenting that corrections have been made as directed. Such violations are typically associated with, but not limited to, training site administration and operations. If corrections are not completed as directed, DMV will notify the training site and may impose any or all sanctions set forth in subsection 1 of this section. Such penalties will continue until all required corrections are made and DMV receives formal documentation confirming compliance.
- 3. DMV will suspend the license of any training site that receives three or more notices under subsection 2 within any 12-month period. Such suspensions will be for an initial 90-day period and will continue until all required corrections are made and DMV receives formal documentation confirming compliance.
- 4. When violations occur that are found by DMV to pose a threat to the health, safety, or welfare of the public or the course participants, instructors, or others associated with the course, DMV will (i) notify the training site of the violations that have occurred and immediately limit all types of instruction provided by the training site, (ii) direct corrective action to be completed by the training site within 30 calendar days of receipt of notice of such

violations and (iii) will require a formal written response documenting that corrections have been made as directed. If corrections are not completed as directed, DMV will suspend the license of the training site and impose a civil penalty. The period of such license suspension will continue until all required corrections are made and DMV receives formal documentation confirming compliance. If the required corrections are not made within 30 calendar days of the suspension, DMV will revoke the license.

- 5. Once a training site license is revoked, DMV will not renew or reissue the license until (i) it receives formal documentation confirming compliance with the required corrective actions, and (ii) the training site applies for renewal or re-issuance. Such training sites are not eligible to apply for a license again until 180 calendar days after DMV receives formal documentation confirming compliance with the required corrective actions.
- 6. Notice of an order suspending or revoking a license, imposing a limitation on training site operations, or imposing a civil penalty, and advising the licensee of the opportunity for a hearing as a result of such order, will be in writing and mailed to the licensee by registered mail to the training site address as shown on the most recent licensee's application for license and will be considered served when mailed. Upon receipt of a request for a hearing appealing the order, the licensee will have the opportunity for a hearing as soon as practicable, but in no case later than 30 days from receipt of the hearing request. The order will remain in effect pending the outcome of the hearing.

## License Denial, Suspension, and Revocation

A training site's license may be denied, suspended, or revoked based on any one or more of the following grounds, where applicable:

- 1. Material misstatement or omission in the application for a license.
- 2. Failure to comply after receipt of a written notice from DMV or any willful failure to comply with a lawful order, any provision of this article, or any term, condition, or restriction of a license.
- 3. Failure to comply with zoning or other land use regulations, ordinances, or statutes.
- 4. Use of deceptive business acts or practices.
- 5. Knowingly advertising by any means any assertion, representation, or statement of fact that is untrue, misleading, or deceptive relating to the conduct of the business for which a license is held or sought.
- 6. Having been found, through a judicial or administrative hearing, to have committed fraudulent or deceptive acts in connection with the training site for which a license is held or sought, or any consumer-related fraud.

- 7. Having been convicted of any criminal act involving the training site for which a license is held or sought.
- 8. Improper assignment, lending, or otherwise allowing the improper use of a license.
- 9. Any corporate officer, owner, administrator, and any individual authorized to obligate the training site having been convicted of a felony.
- 10. Any corporate officer, owner, administrator, and any individual authorized to obligate the training site having been convicted of any misdemeanor involving lying, cheating, stealing, or moral turpitude.
- 11. Failure to furnish DMV information, documentation, or records required or requested pursuant to this article.
- 12. Knowingly and willfully filing any false report, account, record, or memorandum.
- 13. Willfully altering or changing the appearance or wording of a training site license or a course completion certificate.
- 14. Failure to provide services in accordance with the terms, limitations, conditions, or requirements of the license; or
- 15. Failure to comply with other state and federal requirements relating to training site operations.